Redtail CRM review

by the Fairly Compared editorial deskfacts checked how we verify

Long-standing advisor CRM owned by Orion; per-user pricing since 2023, with workflows, texting and Orion AI features on the Growth plan.

30-day trial, no cardfinancial-advisors
7.3fact score#23 of 39 tracked

outbound link goes directly to the vendor, no affiliate parameters

Disclosure: We may earn a commission when you sign up through links marked as affiliate links. That never affects scores or order: rankings are computed from documented facts and cannot read affiliate data. What each vendor pays us →

Honesty note: we have not run our own hands-on test of Redtail CRM yet. Everything on this page is source-based research: the vendor's pricing, plan and help pages, each linked with the date we read it. Ease of use and support quality are not scored until we test.

Redtail CRM in short

Redtail CRM's core plan for a small team is Growth at $59 per user per month with annual billing ($65 billed monthly). For a team of 5, that is $3,540 in the first year. There is no free plan, but a 30-day trial without a credit card.

Choose it if

  • Advisory firms already on Orion (portfolio accounting/planning) that want a CRM integrated into that stack
  • Small teams of up to 5 on a lower per-user price ($39/user/mo annual), or larger teams on Growth with unlimited users
  • Firms that need FINRA-oriented archived texting bundled (Redtail Speak in Growth)

Skip it if

  • Insurance agencies: product and trial are marketed to financial advisors only
  • Teams of more than 5 that want the cheapest tier: Launch is capped at 5 users, so larger teams must buy Growth ($59/user/mo annual)
  • Users who want AI features without Growth: AI features are not available to Launch users

How much does Redtail CRM cost?

Prices in USD as published on Redtail CRM's pricing page, read Oct 3, 2026. Pricing model: Per user; Launch capped at 5 users.

PlanBilled monthlyBilled annuallyUnitWhat it adds
Launch$45$39per user / month, max 5 usersMaximum of 5 users. Complete Redtail CRM, secure mobile app, contact/account mgmt, detailed reporting, segmentation, 100+ integrations, Teams. No Imaging, no Speak, no AI features.[1]
Growthcore plan$65$59per user / monthUnlimited users. Everything in Launch + Redtail Imaging (200 GB storage) + Redtail Speak (compliant texting); process workflows, automation triggers, viewing permissions, document storage; Orion Denali AI features.[1]
Enterprise——custom, minimum commitmentCustomizable plans with Premiere partnership pricing agreements (PPA); minimum license commitment required. Price not public.[1]

Monthly cost on Growth by team size

UsersBilled annuallyBilled monthly
1$59$65
5$295$325
10$590$650
25$1,475$1,625

Per month, before tax. "—" means the vendor does not publish the price for that team size.

What each Redtail CRM plan includes

What the core plan (Growth) includes, and what costs more. Levels come from the vendor's plan comparison.

CapabilityAvailabilityDetails from vendor sources
Sales pipeline / deals✓ all plansOpportunities module exists (listed in API docs); plan gating not stated
Email sync & tracking✓ from GrowthRedtail Suite Sync (email, calendar, contact sync) announced Jan 2024 with Microsoft 365 first and Google 'coming soon'; offered via Growth per press coverage; current Google status unverified. CRM page also lists email auto-archive.
Workflow automation✓ from Growthfrom Growth (process workflows, automation triggers)
Email marketingnot documented—
Built-in calling✗ nono built-in calling found; compliant texting via Redtail Speak (Growth)
AI assistant / AI features✓ from GrowthOrion Denali AI, Growth plan only: Review Prep, Workflow Builder, Smart Search, Redtail Assistant, Contact Import (announced Sept 9, 2026); subject to broker-dealer approval. Speak also has AI message-drafting assistance.
Reports & dashboards✓ all plansdetailed reporting included from Launch; dashboard depth not stated
Custom objectsnot documented—
API access✓ all plansREST API, 100+ endpoints (Contacts, Calendar, Opportunities, Workflows); access by application form + API Terms of Use; firm-only or partner tracks; fees and plan gating not stated
Mobile app✓ all plansyes - secure mobile app included from Launch (functional depth not verified)
HIPAA BAAnot documented—
Gmail / Outlook—Microsoft 365 via Suite Sync (Jan 2024); Google status unverified

Redtail CRM pros and cons

What holds up

  • Per-user pricing is public with both billing options: Launch $39 annual / $45 monthly; Growth $59 annual / $65 monthly.[1]
  • SOC 2 Type II certified; 100+ integrations; Schwab and eMoney integrations named.[3]
  • Database conversions are complimentary on all plans.[1]
  • Growth bundles Imaging (200 GB) and Speak (compliant texting) instead of selling them as separate add-ons.[1]
  • Firm-level API access available via an application form (REST, 100+ endpoints).[5]

What to watch

  • Workflows, Imaging, Speak and the five Denali AI features are Growth-only ($59/user/mo annual, $65 monthly); Launch is capped at 5 users.[1]
  • AI features depend on broker-dealer approval and operate only on data inside Redtail CRM.[4]
  • June 2023 move from a flat $99/mo (up to 15 users) to per-user pricing: 10 users on Growth now cost $590/mo billed annually (derived).[6]
  • Suite Sync email/calendar sync launched with Microsoft 365 first and Google 'coming soon' in Jan 2024; verify current Google support before buying.[7]
  • Enterprise requires a minimum license commitment; price not public.[1]

How the 7.3 fact score is built

PartWeightPoints (0-10)
Cost for a small team30%6.1
Feature coverage (core plan)30%7.0
Pricing transparency20%10.0
Risk-free start10%7.0
Room to grow10%6.7
Ease of use, support, reliability—not scored yet

Same formula for every CRM; affiliate data cannot change it. Methodology →

Recent changes

  • 2022-04 Orion Advisor Solutions announced the acquisition of Redtail Technology (completed 2022).[9]
  • 2023-06 Pricing changed from a flat $99/month covering up to 15 users to per-user pricing starting at $45/user/month (announced May 2023, effective week of June 9, 2023).[6]
  • 2024-01 Redtail Suite Sync (email/calendar/contact sync) and Speak AI drafting announced; available through the Growth plan.[7]
  • 2026-09 Five Orion Denali AI features announced for the Growth plan (Review Prep, Workflow Builder, Smart Search, Redtail Assistant, Contact Import).[4]

The money trail

We could not confirm whether Redtail Technology (Orion) runs a public affiliate program. Links on this page go directly to the vendor and earn us nothing.

What every vendor pays →

What we could not verify

Listed so you know where to ask the vendor directly.

  • The brief described Redtail as 'per database, includes N users'. That was the pre-June-2023 model (flat $99/mo, up to 15 users). Current official pricing is per user; Launch is capped at 5 users, Growth is unlimited.
  • Marketing/bulk email availability by plan: one secondary summary says Growth includes bulk email, but the vendor pricing page does not list it.
  • Email archiving: one secondary review (softbliq, Mar 2026) mentions a separate fee; not on the vendor pricing page, unverified.
  • Mobile app depth: one secondary review calls it limited; vendor says 'secure mobile app'. Unverified.
  • HQ (Sacramento) and founding year (2003) come from trade press and SmartAsset, not the vendor site.
  • Custom objects, QuickBooks and HIPAA BAA not documented in any source reviewed.
  • Current Google Workspace sync status in Suite Sync is unverified.

Sources

  1. Redtail CRM Pricing · vendor source · fetched 2026-10-03
  2. Redtail home page · vendor source · fetched 2026-10-03
  3. Redtail CRM product page · vendor source · fetched 2026-10-03
  4. Redtail's New AI features, powered by Denali (Sept 9, 2026) · vendor source · fetched 2026-10-03
  5. Redtail API access · vendor source · fetched 2026-10-03
  6. CRM firm Redtail Technology changes subscription model (Financial Planning, 2023) · secondary · fetched 2026-10-03
  7. Orion & Redtail introduce Email/Calendar Integration & AI Enhancements (Jan 24, 2024) · secondary · fetched 2026-10-03
  8. SmartAsset Redtail CRM review (updated Aug 6, 2026) · secondary · fetched 2026-10-03
  9. Orion Advisor Solutions (Wikipedia) · secondary · fetched 2026-10-03
  10. Orion Acquiring CRM Provider Redtail (seen as search-result snippet only: Sacramento HQ, 2003) · secondary · fetched 2026-10-03
  11. Softbliq Redtail CRM review (Mar 14, 2026) · secondary · fetched 2026-10-03

Alternatives to Redtail CRM

Highest fact scores among comparable tools.

AgencyZoom

Columbus, OH, USA · P&C insurance agencies · facts 2026-10-03
7.9fact score
14-day trialinsurance

Sales, renewal and referral CRM for P&C insurance agencies, priced per agency with seven seats included; owned by Vertafore.

Paid plans from
$119 per month, account
5 users, year 1
$1,430 on Essential
Free option
14-day trial

Wise Agent

Fountain Hills, AZ, USA · Solo agents and small teams · facts 2026-10-03
7.6fact score
14-day trialreal-estate

Low-cost real estate CRM with transaction management and drip email at a flat price for up to five team members on one shared login.

Paid plans from
$42 per month, account
5 users, year 1
$504 on CRM
Free option
14-day trial

Follow Up Boss

Remote (US); parent in Seattle, WA · Real estate agents and teams · facts 2026-10-03
7.5fact score
14-day trial, no cardreal-estate

Lead-follow-up CRM for real estate agents and teams with 200+ lead-source connections and flat team bundles; owned by Zillow since 2023.

Paid plans from
$58 per user / month
5 users, year 1
$3,480 on Grow
Free option
14-day trial